Let There Be Sound …

… and there was sound!

Completed most of the remaining wiring and measured the HT and heater supply voltages before plugging in the valves:

HT = 197 V dc

Heater supply: 6.00 V dc

Next steps:

  • switch off and wait a while for the HT caps to discharge – I’m rather allergic to high voltages ;-).
  • Now plug in the two 6N3 valves and switch on
  • Yes!!!! The valves are heating up
I love the glow of hot valves :-)

I love the glow of hot valves 🙂

Before plugging in the SKRM-eTap2 module (which actually produces those luscious vintage echo sounds, courtesy of the FV-1 chip designed by the late Keith Barr (of Alesis fame) and carries the DSP program by my friend Piet Verbruggen) I did a loop through test of the audio path.

First, connect a jumper lead from the Left O/P of the SKRM (pin 13 ) to the left I/P (pin 2)

NB I couldn't find a supplier for the required 16 way (2x8) socket for the SKRM so I had to improvise by cutting the last four pins off a 20-way connector. The four holes at the bottom of the connector are empty, don't get confused like I did!

NB I couldn’t find a supplier for the required 16 way (2×8) socket for the SKRM so I had to improvise by cutting the last four pins off a 20-way connector. The four holes at the bottom of the connector are empty, don’t get confused like I did!

Now connect guitar to the front panel input jack and connect the rear output jack to a guitar amp. Switch on, wait for the valves to warm up, pluck those strings and – hey Presto – we got sound 😀

First impression – very little hum and hiss – and that’s without the case being screwed back together. The Arduino hardware is not powered up so I’m hoping that won’t generate much noise.

Leave a Reply

